• Day Excursion
  • Anywhere

Kelaniya Raja Maha Vihara

Kelaniya Raja Maha Vihara is known as the Kelani temple. It has regularly been associated with the upward push and fall of Ceylon / Sri Lanka, with the popular pronouncing that because the Kelaniya temple rose, Sri Lanka rose and because it fell, the u . s . a . and its management fell. It has for that reason had a deep affiliation with the political powers of the u . s . a ..

The temple is likewise famous for its picture of the reclining Gautama Buddha and paintings by way of the local artist Solias Mendis which depict essential events inside the existence of the Buddha, in the history of Buddhism in Sri Lanka, additionally incidents from the Jataka testimonies. it’s far the venue for the Duruthu Maha Perahera procession every January. An 18-foot stone statue of the Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara has been erected at the temple.

Kelaniya Temple – Murals

The murals are those of the 18th century and the early twentieth century.

The Kandyan generation murals: The Kandyan era artwork nevertheless in conditions are housed in two chambers. those art work illustrates the Jataka tales that had been created to inspire virtues of compassion. at the wall are also displayed a literary depiction of Buddha’s warfare in opposition to the defiling factors.

current work of art on the walls: The beautiful contemporary artwork carried out with the aid of Soliyas Mendis all through 1927-1946 illustrates the major events of the history of Buddhism in Sri Lanka. most of the panels of art work are King Devanmpiyatissa donating the Mahamegha park to Arahat Mahinda; the congregation of clergymen inscribing Tripitaka, the Buddhist doctrine; Indian pupil monk imparting Visuddhimagga, the commentaries on the Buddhist doctrine, to the Sangharaja of Maha Vihara; the advent of Buddhist nun Theri Sangamitta; arrival of Prince Danta and Princess Hemamala from Northern India with the Sacred teeth Relic.

cutting-edge murals on the ceiling: at the ceiling are depicted the planetary gods or the navagrahayo, the 9 planets of the oriental astrology and the twelve zodiacal signs and symptoms or the Rashis.


Listing Amenities

  • Entrance Ticket Required